Dear colleagues, I am a Research Analyst working with a Tufts University/USAID study, evaluating the sustainability of impacts and activities within Title II food aid and health programs managed by international NGOs in India (and similar programs in three other countries), after they phased out in 2009-10. Since I am returning back to India in a few months and keen to work with field research in malnutrition, I was curious to know if any of you are aware of projects/studies that are focused on "preventing low birth weight (LBW) through antenatal micro-nutrient supplementation (such as vitamins B-12 and D, in addition to iron and folate)". About 8 million LBW babies take birth in India alone every year (of the global 20 million) and I was wondering if there are any such active projects (or studies in pipeline), this year. I would really appreciate your thoughts or leads. Thank you. Best wishes, Ameya
Good day Dr. Ameya Bondre. We are involved with Ashoka who are preparing a large scale investigation on pregnant mothers and their babies 1000 day project in rural India using clean water, e'Pap nutrition and state of the art information collection devices. The project will be monitored by Harvard University. The clinical work we have already done indicated we will be able to address the iron deficiency anemia very quickly and the resulting stunting at birth should then be addressed with the included folic acid and other important micro nutrients. More important, we will be evaluating the nutrient density of the breast milk which we believe will improve dramatically using the e'Pap approach to nutritional suplimentation because of the fortification approach of focusing on bioavailability and nutrient repleteness. If you send me your email contact details - I will share with you the information we already have and the contact details of the Ashoka people in Washington DC for you to make contact with. Basil Kransdorff e'Pap Technologies