Hello, I am a medical student and Master's in Public Health candidate writing a research paper about the effectiveness, scope, and challenges of brastfeeding promotion and baby friendly spaces in humanitarian settings. If you or a colleague has information about current breastfeeding promotion initiatives in these designated spaces please respond to any or all of the following questions:

1. How commonly are baby friendly spaces being utilized to promote breastfeeding as opposed to other maternal and child health-related activities? 

2. What kinds of research methodologies are utilized to assess the effectiveness of breastfeeding promotion during crisis?

3. How do you navigate aggressive marketing of breast milk substitutes and promote optimal breastfeeding practices during emergencies and in refugee settings?

4. What challenges do you face in implementing baby friendly spaces and/or breastfeeding initiatives in humanitarian settings 

5. Please provide examples of baby friendly spaces being implemented in recent conflict settings.

If you are open to being interviewed for my research paper in the next two weeks, please let me know! 

Thank you,

Savita

There are no breastfeeding friendly spaces in any of the refugee camps in Greece, period. None. Nothing. There are no maternal child friendly spaces either. Everything has been closed by the Greek government and even before closure, there was nothing. I have run an NGO in Greece since 2018, and I know this to be correct. I am therefore calling for a reality check. People ask what interventions work, how the spaces are used etc. There are no interventions and no spaces and no knowledge at all about infant feeding.

Anonymous

Answered:

1 year ago

hello

Thank you to you to start this investigation!