I am new to ENN and the humanitarian sector, so please excuse me if this is common knowledge, but wondering if there is an updated version of (or planned update of) the 2004 UNHCR, UNICEF, WFP and WHO document "Food and Nutrition Needs in Emergencies"? Or have more recent publications replaced it as guidance? I continue to see it referenced, but assuming there are more recent guidance documents we should be using (other than the Sphere standards of course). 

Here is the link: https://www.who.int/publications/i/item/food-and-nutrition-needs-in-emergencies 

Thanks in advance!

As to my knowledge 2004 edition has not been updated! The best colleagues to answer this would be WFP/UNHCR/WHO/UNICEF nutrition colleagues in emergency. There may be more recent discussion on the needs in emergency in different forums. I was in HCR when this edition ws published- I believe the principles remain valid as listed in this edition. I did visit the WFP resource centre and yes the edition of 2004 is still used as one of the references. Sphere standards as mentioned also have a sction on planning rations etc. Thank you.

Rita Bhatia
Technical Expert

Answered:

1 year ago

Hello, Vanessa, from a fellow Canadian. :-)