Hi all,

I am a Master student at Johns Hopkins University, working with Jodine Chase at IFE-Core Group and Mija Ververs. I am working on a case study on breast milk substitute (BMS) donations/code violation tactics by major BMS companies in an emergency setting.

Both WHA 63.23 (2010) and OG-IFE prohibit donations of BMS in emergencies. I would like to gather evidence/records of BMS donations and other code violations during the August 2017 flood in Bangladesh to examine such practices in emergencies.

I would need your support:

1. Does  anyone have media records of or reports on code violations in Bangladesh during that period?
  2. Similarly, are there any records/reports of NGOs or third-party agencies or individuals seeking or distributing BMS as a disaster relief effort?
  3. What would be your recommendations on resources for code monitoring specifically related to donations in an emergency context?
  4. Please share publications you think may be of interest, particularly any covering emergency contexts.

Specific Code violations most relevant to my search are listed below:

• WHA 63.23 & OG-IFE: 
    • Seeking and accepting donations of  BMS, complementary foods, other milk products or feeding equipment (including bottles, teats and breast pumps) in emergencies.
    • BMS, other milk products, bottles, and teats included in a general or blanket distribution
    •  Purchased supplies not based on assessed needs
  • Article 5& 6:
    • Feeding with infant formula not demonstrated by health workers
    • Companies displaying promotional materials within a maternity, nursery, or pediatric ward.
    • Free giveaways of vouchers or gift packs
    • Using "mothercraft" nurses or similar company-paid personnel
    • Cross-promotion of BMS products on donated equipment and materials
  • Article 7:
    • Free samples were given to mothers, their families, or health workers