Dear all, I am a pediatrician and Master Student of International Health and I am quite new in the field of nutrition. I am preparing a survey of IYCF practices in Haiti. This will serve as a (part of a) baseline for a mother and child-health project, and it is supposed to be my Master thesis. To prepare and design the study, I follow the manual of CARE. Now I am stuck at the question of random sampling. We do not have any household data about the catchment area of the project. The catchment area consists of several roads with proper houses, and of several tented camps. We have a map that goes only up to street level and does not indicate the houses. On GoogleEarth we can see the houses quite well. Of the tented camps we do not have any map. Does any of you have a practical idea how to do random sampling in this situation? What is the most feasible approach? Kind regards Jenny
Here is one resource, available on-line, with a relevant section on sampling (including when accurate maps are not available): Gorstein J, Sullivan KM, Parvanta I, Begin F. Indicators and Methods for Cross-Sectional Surveys of Vitamin and Mineral Status of Populations. The Micronutrient Initiative (Ottawa) and the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (Atlanta), May 2007. Though the title indicates micronutrient status surveys, the section on sampling is relevant for other surveys as well. Please Google the title, you should find it on-line.
Mary Arimond

Answered:

13 years ago
Not sure that you really need random sampling. Some form of systematic sampling might do. Take a look at: [url]http://www.brixtonhealth.com/ASTRA.mov[/url] If this suits then I can send the paper documentation. You may find this useful: [url]http://www.brixtonhealth.com/urbanSampling.pdf[/url] I hope this helps.
Mark Myatt
Technical Expert

Answered:

13 years ago