Are there any specific guidelines on what should be the protein sources and distribution between animal and plant protein for adequate nutrition in children U2 and for PLW? In communities where animal protein is expensive or for communities with vegetarian diets can an increased intake of legumes and nuts compensate for the lack of animal protein? Any references and opinions from this expert forum will be much appreciated. Many thanks
I am not an expert but I can venture an opinion ... from an "assessment" perspective. Animal sources protein contain all of the essential amino acids and might be called "complete protein sources". Plant sources of protein are often not complete protein sources. Some are ... Soya, for example, is a complete protein source. A diet with a mix of vegetable sources of protein is likely to be protein complete. If you are concerned about protein completeness then you can collect data on food intake (a small sample will probably be OK if diets do not vary much ... you will probably only want to look at the least wealthy group) and use food tables to assess protein completeness. You might also look at zinc and iron as diets containing animal protein are likely to also contain sufficient quantities of zinc and iron compared to mainly vegetarien diets. A simpler approach would be to use the food groups from the DDS component of an IYCF score. I think you might want to use more food groups than the seven traditionally used in IYCF indicator sets. Remember to include "wild foods" such as insects, snails, grubs, &c. as these can be important "coping" foods. What you find from your assessment of diet can inform interventions ... you might (e.g.) decide that a targeted or universal LNS distribution or SFP. Remember that we expect U2 kids to be breastfed (a source of animal protein). You will want to also look at the diets or PLWs (ad your question suggests). I think we do need a true expert opinion here as much written on vegetarian diets is ideologi