Good day @All.
I'm a child health physician in Nigeria and would like to know if hospital based childhood nutritional assessment results can be representative of the nutritional Status of children in the community? Are there other parameters apart from weight, height, age, sex and MUAC that can be used for such surveys?
Thanks
Iyke

Hospital-based studies/ surveys can tell you little about incidence / prevalence in the community. This is because a selection bias (often a set of selection biases) occur.

You should also check for bilateral pitting oedema.

Mark Myatt
Technical Expert

Answered:

5 years ago

Dear Iyke:

In answer to your questions:

1. Absolutely not! Hospitalized children are hospitalized because they are ill. They do not represent in any way children in the community. In order to assess the nutrition status of children in the community, you must select a RANDOM sample of children from the community.

2. Regarding other parameters, what do you want to measure? The anthropometric measurements you list are the most commonly used to measure child nutritional status; however, there are a zillion other measurements which have been proposed, most of which are not feasible in field data collections. But if you are thinking of measuring things other than nutritional status, of course there are other indicators.

I hope this helps.

Bradley A. Woodruff
Technical Expert

Answered:

5 years ago

Dear Sir
From a personal experience in two different counties in my country the nutrition status clients you see per specified period does reflect what is at community level. The higher the numbers the more the probability that its a community problem.Because referrals are done from a community.

This is for both inpatient and outpatient.

The severity of the problem is indicated by the number of inpatient. This can be seasonal or continuous.